Has the second half of 2020 been good for your business?
Thread poster: Yasser El Helw
Yasser El Helw
Yasser El Helw  Identity Verified
Egypt
Local time: 15:02
Member (2003)
Arabic to English
+ ...
Dec 6, 2020

Is there currently a slump in the translation business? I work in the medical field and I am starting to feel it. Have you had to lower your rates recently? It is good to know the general picture to be able to take informed actions.

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:02
Member (2008)
Italian to English
OK Dec 6, 2020

Better than the first half !

philgoddard

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
It has been good so far Dec 6, 2020

To sum up my year has been as follows:

January: good
February: very good
March: so, so
April: regular
May: terrible
June: excellent
July: excellent
August: very good
September: regular
October: very good
November: excellent

This means that the road has been as bumpy as ever! I must say also that I have noticed, as one might expect, a big drop on translation demand from my consumer-goods clients.

... See more
To sum up my year has been as follows:

February: very good
March: so, so
April: regular
May: terrible
June: excellent
July: excellent
October: very good
November: excellent

This means that the road has been as bumpy as ever! I must say also that I have noticed, as one might expect, a big drop on translation demand from my consumer-goods clients.

Regarding my rates: for my regulars, I haven’t changed them since 2015 (my rates were already on the higher side); for new clients: I prefer quoting on a per-project basis rather than per word.

All in all to my surprise (because of the coronavirus pandemic), my business has increased comparing to 2019.
Collapse

Angie Garbarino
Angie Garbarino  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:02
Member (2003)
French to Italian
+ ...
mine was Dec 6, 2020

February: good