Website localisation (TMSs/Connectors etc.)
Thread poster: David Howard
David Howard
David Howard  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:58
French to English
+ ...
Oct 29, 2019

Hi all,

I'd like to know more about website localisation and, more specifically, which software solutions enable you to retrieve/localise the content of a website without having to download the files or copy and paste the text. I've looked up solutions like Smartling, but it looks like you have to get a seperate subscription for each website you localise. It's a service I'd like to provide for direct clients.

I have very little knowledge on how agencies do this so any i
... See more
Hi all,

I'd like to know more about website localisation and, more specifically, which software solutions enable you to retrieve/localise the content of a website without having to download the files or copy and paste the text. I've looked up solutions like Smartling, but it looks like you have to get a seperate subscription for each website you localise. It's a service I'd like to provide for direct clients.

I have very little knowledge on how agencies do this so any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

David
Collapse

Wieland Haselbauer
Wieland Haselbauer  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:58
Member (2003)
English to German
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
I recommend Lingotek Oct 29, 2019

Hello David
indeed, there are just a few tools available .

I can recommend the Lingotek plugin for Wordpress sites (I work with it at the end of the supply chain, i.e. as a translator).
It allows export and import from/to websites in XLIFF format and / or online translation /MT translation /revision 1+2.
All these roles can be delegated to teleworkers with different access data.

I prefer offline work for the translation (enables me to use any XLIFF c
... See more
Hello David
indeed, there are just a few tools available .