Why won't Translators Workbench clean up a bak file?
Thread poster: david angel (X)
david angel (X)
david angel (X)
Local time: 11:13
French to English
+ ...
Jan 4, 2006

Hi. I am pretty new to Trados 6.5 so I'm still learning the ropes. Normally, Trados Workbench makes a back-up copy which you then use as the document to clean up, right? My Workbench is refusing to clean up BAK files. I've circumnavigated the problem by telling it not to keep a back up copy, but does anybody know how to solve this, rather than get round it? I would be grateful.
Best Wishes, David Angel.

Alison Schwitzgebel
Alison Schwitzgebel
France
Local time: 12:13
German to English
+ ...
I'm not quite sure I understand your problem... Jan 4, 2006

When you work with Trados to translate a Word file you open Translators Workbench and also open the file to be translated in Word, using Word as your "Editor". Once your translation is complete, you then save the file in Word at the desired location as a .doc file. Then you go into Trados and clean up the .doc file.

Trados only creates .bak files as bilingual reference (back-up) files after it has cleaned up the Word file.

If you really want to clean a .bak file, then
... See more
When you work with Trados to translate a Word file you open Translators Workbench and also open the file to be translated in Word, using Word as your "Editor". Once your translation is complete, you then save the file in Word at the desired location as a .doc file. Then you go into Trados and clean up the .doc file.

Trados only creates .bak files as bilingual reference (back-up) files after it has cleaned up the Word file.

If you really want to clean a .bak file, then save it as a .doc file and clean it up.

Or am I not understanding your problem properly?

Best,

Alison

[Edited at 2006-01-04 18:25]
Collapse

Philippe Etienne
Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
English to French
save the same file under two names Jan 4, 2006