rates - in foreign currency
Thread poster: Brenda Wong, M.A. (Translation & Interpretation)
Brenda Wong, M.A. (Translation & Interpretation)
Brenda Wong, M.A. (Translation & Interpretation)  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:06
Member (2002)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Dec 3, 2001

I am a US base translator. Recently, I was contacted by an overseas agency who insisted that the rate for a translation project be in their currency. I am concerned about the exchange rate fluctuations between US$ and their currency. (They would pay me in US$ though). Are there any colleagues out there with a similar experience and who can share their experiences with me? I really appreciate it.

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 13:06
English to German
+ ...
Exchange rate risk... Dec 3, 2001

...is a fact of life in international business, I\'m afraid. In essence, the distribution of risks reflects the balance of power in a business relationship: if the (prospective) customer is powerful enough to force you to accept their base currency, it simply means that they offload their exchange rate risk (which they would be subject to if you invoiced on a pure USD basis).

Of course, you can hedge foreign exchange (FX) risk - but in my experience (including FX trading, but this was
... See more
...is a fact of life in international business, I\'m afraid. In essence, the distribution of risks reflects the balance of power in a business relationship: if the (prospective) customer is powerful enough to force you to accept their base currency, it simply means that they offload their exchange rate risk (which they would be subject to if you invoiced on a pure USD basis).

Of course, you can hedge foreign exchange (FX) risk - but in my experience (including FX trading, but this was many years ago...) this would only make sense if you had a minimum volume of, say, US$ 50,000 (or equivalent).