Daniel Ruhland
Daniel Ruhland
Brazil
Local time: 15:27
English to French
+ ...
Feb 7

Hello,

It's my first time posting here, so I apologize in advance if this problem has already been answered and/or if I don't follow some of the posting guidelines.

I am using OmegaT 6.0.0 and I am very happy with it overall. The only issue I have is when I have two or more strings/sentences which are identical in the source text, but may have different translations in the target language depending on the context. OmegaT seems to view all those strings as one when worki
... See more
Hello,

It's my first time posting here, so I apologize in advance if this problem has already been answered and/or if I don't follow some of the posting guidelines.

I am using OmegaT 6.0.0 and I am very happy with it overall. The only issue I have is when I have two or more strings/sentences which are identical in the source text, but may have different translations in the target language depending on the context. OmegaT seems to view all those strings as one when working on the same file.
I tried to google my issue, but I couldn't find a solution. I found a Sourceforge thread from 2007 saying it was not possible, but maybe it is outdated now. If someone who uses OmegaT knows how to do it, I would be very grateful. Right now, the only workaround I can think of is to filter the duplicates in Excel and add a different tag to each string to differentiate them, but it is time-consuming to do it manually.

Thank you,
Daniel
Collapse

Andrey Raugas
Andrey Raugas
Georgia
Local time: 22:27
English to Russian
Create Alternative Translation Feb 8

Hi.

For that purpose you can use "Create Alternative Translation" option. You can access it from "Edit" menu or from context menu. Here is short description from User Manual:

Multiple Translations

A source segment that appears in multiple locations in the project may require several different translations depending on context.